Login to your Account

Do not have an account yet? Create one

I lost my password. Please email it to me

Looking for something specific?

Bridal Boutique » Selecting a Diamond

About the 4 C’s – Cut, Clarity, Color, Carat Weight

Every diamond is unique. Each reflects the story of its arduous journey from deep inside the earth to a cherished object of adornment. Yet all diamonds share certain features that allow us to compare and evaluate them. These features are called the 4Cs.

Cut: The GIA Cut Scale ranges from Excellent to Poor.

Color: The GIA Color Scale extends from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown).

Clarity: The GIA Clarity Scale includes eleven clarity grades ranging from Flawless to I3. 


FL means “Flawless”.  It will be impossible to find any inclusions or blemishes in this diamond, even under 10 x magnification.  IF is “Internally Flawless”, meaning identifiable inclusions cannot be found inside the diamond, up to 10x magnification.  However, minor external blemishes can be observed.


Extremely difficult to find any inclusions, even under 10x magnification. VVS1 and VVS2 are “Very, Very Slightly Included.”

VS1, VS2:

Typically clean to the naked eye, and moderately difficult to very difficult to find inclusions with 10x magnification. VS1 and VS2 are “Very Slightly Included.”

SI1, SI2:

Should be completely to almost completely clear to the naked eye (eye clean) when viewed from the top. Fairly easy to find imperfections with 10x magnification. SI diamonds are “Slightly Included.”

I1, I2, I3:

Borderline “eye clean”; to fairly easy to find imperfections with the naked eye; to obviously noticeable inclusion. Very easy to find imperfections with 10x magnification, down to no magnification necessary at all.  I1 through I3 diamonds are “Included.”

Carat Weight: One carat equals 1/5 of a gram in weight.